Book Talk with Paul Luikart

Main Street Books is honored to host author Paul Luikart for the First Friday celebration in September. Luikart’s debut collection of short stories is called Animal Heart. He will read and sign books on Friday, September 2 at 6pm. Paul Luikart was born in Canton, Ohio and raised in North Canton. He lives with his family in Chattanooga, Tennessee now, after sojourns in Phoenix and Chicago. His MFA in creative writing is from Seattle Pacific University. Animal Heart is his first book. The stories in Paul Luikart’s Animal Heart address lives in transition, focusing on raggedy characters in need of redemption, whether they realize it or not. A cabbie with a booze problem pities a murderer and helps him flee into the desert. A homeless woman teaches a businessman how to dance. A bank robber on the run does the only compassionate thing he’s ever done in his life when he encounters a band of wild horses. A man hunts and kills his romantic rival, then presents the love of his life with a grisly token of his affection. Fans of Nelson Algren, Denis Johnson, Donald Ray Pollock, and Jess Walter (particularly We Live In Water) will appreciate the...

Book Talk with Donald Ray Pollock

  Main Street Books is thrilled to announce that Ohio author Donald Ray Pollock will be coming back to the bookstore this August to speak on his latest novel. Join us for a book talk and signing on Friday, August 5 at 6pm. Donald Ray Pollock is the author of the novel The Devil All the Time and the story collection Knockemstiff, and recipient of the 2009 PEN/Robert W. Bingham Fellowship. He worked as a laborer at the Mead Paper Mill in Chillicothe, Ohio, from 1973 to 2005. He holds an MFA from The Ohio State University. The Heavenly Table, Pollock’s latest novel, is a dark, gritty, electrifying (and, disturbingly, weirdly funny) book that will solidify his place among the best contemporary American authors. It is 1917 in that sliver of border land that divides Georgia from Alabama. Dispossessed farmer Pearl Jewett ekes out a hardscrabble existence with his three young sons: Cane (the eldest; handsome; intelligent); Cob (short; heavy set; a bit slow); and Chimney (the youngest; thin; ill-tempered). Several hundred miles away in southern Ohio, a farmer by the name of Ellsworth Fiddler lives with his son, Eddie, and his wife, Eula. After Ellsworth is swindled out of his family’s entire fortune, his life is put on a surprising, unforgettable, and violent trajectory that will directly lead him to cross paths with the Jewetts. No good can come of it. Or can it? In the gothic tradition of Flannery O’Connor and Cormac McCarthy with a healthy dose of cinematic violence reminiscent of Sam Peckinpah, Quentin Tarantino and the Coen Brothers, the Jewetts and the Fiddlers will find...

The Art of Roger Marcvicsin

There’s new art in the Book Loft! Come see the vibrant, energetic, color-saturated, adjective-heavy paintings of Roger Marcvicsin. You will say ‘Wow’ a lot. The opening reception will have wine and snacks...

Borderlands: Poetry On the Edge

Borderlands is a monthly reading series that typically features one or two Ohio poets on the 3rd Saturday of every month. These poets are consistently of kick-ass quality. The reading is followed by our now infamous “mic-less open mic,” so if you, too, are a poet, bring your work. Poets and poetry appreciators are equally welcome. Get your language flowing, set your words on fire. And while you’re at it, bring someone who claims to not like poetry to show them what it really...

CANCELED: Book Talk with James Renner

  On August’s First Friday celebration we will be hosting Ohio writer James Renner for a book talk. About the Author James Renner is mostly known for his true-crime journalism. As a reporter for Cleveland Scene, he uncovered new clues and suspects in the cold-case murder of Amy Mihaljevic. His work led to the successful closure of the Tina Harmon case in 2009. He spent months researching the Amanda Berry and Gina DeJesus abductions when the girls were still missing and is haunted by the fact that he had Castro’s name in his notes. His true crime writing has been featured in the Best American Crime Reporting anthology. In 2012, Renner’s debut novel was published. Set in Northeast Ohio, The Man from Primrose Lane blends mystery with sci-fi in a very unique structure. Renner has published two books recently — a novel called The Great Forgetting (Nov 2015) and a memoir titled, True Crime Addict (May 2016). About the Books The Great Forgetting (novel): Jack Felter, a history teacher, returns home to bucolic Franklin Mills, Ohio, to care for his father. Jack would love to forget about Franklin Mills, and about Sam, the girl he fell in love with, who ran off with his best friend, Tony. Except Tony has gone missing. Soon Jack is pulled into the search for Tony, but the only one who seems to know anything is Tony’s last patient, a paranoid boy named Cole. When Jack learns the details about the program known as the Great Forgetting, he’s faced with the timeless question: Is it better to forget our greatest mistake or to remember,...

Pin It on Pinterest